The European Board of Surgery Qualifications (EBSQ)

Elected members of the Section of Surgery and European Board of Surgery established a European Board of Surgery Qualification from 1996.

In 1998, the "Division of Coloproctology" and in 1999, the "Division of Trauma" were established. The "Division of General Surgery" was created in 2000. In the year 2001, the Section and European Board of Surgery has established a "Division of Thoracic Surgery" within the Section. The Divisions of "Endocrine Surgery", "Surgical Oncology", "Transplantation", "HPB Surgery" and "Breast Surgery" followed.
The Divisions offer EBSQ-examinations frequently.

Additionally, Working Groups were established for "Hand Surgery", "ECS (Esophagus, Cardia and Stomach) Surgery" and in 2015 for "Emergency Surgery", "Minimal Invasive Surgery", "Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery" and "Endoscopy and Gastrointestinal Functional Diagnostics"  and Board Examinations are prepared.

The Board Examinations determine the status of European harmonisation and standardisation process in medical training and qualification.

The Board Examinations consist in a two-step process: Eligibility and Examination. SOPs follow the Board regulations. Modifications and adjustments in the conduction of the qualification process are at the discretion of the Divisions and subject of approval in the Board of Surgery.

Wolfgang Feil
President of the European Board of Surgery
Honorary & Foundation President of the Division of General Surgery